OMGabe

by Gabe Berman – the author of Live Like a Fruit Fly

If You Really Want To Hear About It…

“What’s Holden doing right now?” I asked my mom.

A few months before her birthday, I overheard her say to someone that she wanted to reread the holiest of hollies, The Catcher In The Rye.

So, that’s the gift I gave her. Paperback, non kindle, with the original cover. Like a 60’s Corvette Stingray, a goddamn classic.

“He just got beat up in a hotel room,” my mom answered.

“Ahh, and now he’s pretending to have bullet wounds in the gut,” I said smiling.

After watching me flick through the book for a few seconds she said, “He’s a real sick kid that Holden Caulfield.”

“He’s not a sick kid,” I said defending him but actually defending myself. “He’s in a sick world.”

Raise high the roof beam,
gb

The Right Isn’t Right

20160909-145750.jpg

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

