OMGabe

by Gabe Berman – the author of Live Like a Fruit Fly

Gabe Proof Through The Night

Alone I sat on the beach again.

Alone I sat, but in a huge crowd, as the Fourth Of July fireworks illuminated the night sky.

And on the drive home, I thought about why we all crave to be in love.

Crave it like junkies in withdrawal.

I think it’s because being in love is the only thing that can rival the feeling of being young.

Because when you’re in love, and I mean cosmically coordinated, quantumly entangled, unconditionally expressed, star crossed love, time loses all relevance. The years behind you become a concept. An illusion.

And the present moment becomes bright and attention grabbing like it’s been filtered in Photoshop.

Of course in the car tonight, I also let myself lie naked in the center of the massive crater left behind by the absence of my dad.

If I were anymore heartbroken, I’d cease.

Totally cease.

As for right now, I’m sitting in his seat at the dining room table, listening to Kind Of Blue by Miles, and the only thing I can think to do is send him love.

I have enough, more than enough, for you as well.

with gratitude,
gb

Your loved ones will love this from you: Love Looks Like This

20160704-004040.jpg

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “Gabe Proof Through The Night

  1. It reinforces the lonesomeness being in a crowd during a festive time and not feeling so festive because there is a hole in your heart. Thanks for sharing this.

  2. Leslie on said:

    Every year for the past five years I’ve been alone at the fair on the 4th around my block walking my dog I have seen the same Christmas light and Halloween lights and decorations . Each year saying I hope at some point I’m not so alone and lonely. This year I have done the loop of each holiday and for the first time in my life the heart hole is smaller I am alone but not in my mind and spirit I’m with love and never alone ❣we are all connected…

  3. Betsy on said:

    I know that feeling, you always amaze me, I think you can’t ‘move’ me more and each new book or blog does just that. I’ve had that empty feeling since my Mom died when I was 12 (many years ago). Nothing really fills that void but it sure does get easier, especially hearing (reading?) the love in your words.

Leave a Reply

