OMGabe

by Gabe Berman – the author of Live Like a Fruit Fly

The First Law Of Thermodynamics

Teva, my sister’s golden retriever, is gone.

We had to put him to sleep.

About an hour before he took his last breath, I picked him up and put him in the back of the car. We stared into each other’s eyes for a few final moments and then my sister and brother-in-law drove him to the vet.

My nephews and I sat home in silence and sniffles.

I thought the three of us could all use some candy and on the way out to the car I said, “Guys, this just shows us, once again, that just about everything we worry about isn’t worth worrying about. Love is the only thing that matters.”

You’d think this would be lost on eleven year olds, but gratefully, it wasn’t.

I wrote similar words, in my head, as rushed I to my sister’s house this afternoon:

There is love and there is consciousness, and then there is the consciousness of love. All else is an illusion, albeit, as Einstein said, a very persistent one.

Thank you, to all of you around the world, who loved my boy as well,
gabe

20150417-192207.jpg

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “The First Law Of Thermodynamics

  1. I wish healing your way during such a loss for you and yours. 😦
    It’s always next to impossible to lose a pet. HUGS Xx

  2. Sonia Hofmann on said:

    sooooo very sorry about ur lose…I stayed up all nite yrs ago when my beloved ‘Hilda’ was shifting to the other side so I know ur pain….then we put her in the back of the car and drove out to the superstition mnts in phoenix and buried her under a giant saguaro cacti and now she has a ‘room with view’!!  lot of love and luck…xxoo

  3. Bonnie on said:

    Hey Gabe, I read this and really don’t know what to say to you. I know you really cared for Teva, he was an awesome dog from what I seen of posts and pictures. I am very sorry you and the family lost this wonderful boy. My words won’t heal anything for you, but know I care. Sending you hugs, prayers and love. May you find some comfort. Bless you Gabe.

  4. Dear Gabe,
    My sincerest condolence to you and your family on the death of your beloved Teva. She was blessed to have a loving and caring family and all of you of having her in your life. Companion animals teach us so much more than we can ever appreciate.
    With Love,
    Maria

  5. Thank you. The truth is though, I appreciated him fully. Down to the last molecule.

  6. Thank you as always

Leave a Reply

