OMGabe

by Gabe Berman – the author of Live Like a Fruit Fly

I Wish…

I wish I could sit on a bench on the boardwalk and stare comfortably into the ocean while seagulls glide by without feeling the restlessness of thinking I should be doing something else. I wish I can write the way Springsteen’s “Born To Run” sounds. I wish I could look into my dog’s eyes again. He was such a good boy and I can still feel his fur against my face as if last night was the night I was was ten years old, resting my head on his tummy as he breathed a few of his last breaths. I wish kindness and compassion and generosity were the measures of success. I wish I was less affected by the anger of others while waiting in line at the post office. I wish they were less angry to begin with. I wish nothing horrible happens to them or their loved ones but if something should and they’re fortunate enough to survive, I hope they return to the post office with a more evolved perspective. I wish you knew how much I believed in you. Yes, you. Regardless of your past “failures” or hard times. I wish you knew how much I loved your essence. So much so that I need to keep from crying right now. I wish I could time travel back to my youth and tell myself that almost nothing I worried about is worth worrying about. I wish my mom continues to live happily and healthily for a long, long time. I wish, more than anything, that my dad crosses over from the other side and flips, from heads to tails, the penny I placed for him on the dining room table so my belief is confirmed and I can live the rest of my life as lightheartedly as a leaf lifted off the ground by a gentle breeze.

www.WhereIsGodWhenOurLovedOnesGetSick.com

20150205-144322.jpg

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “I Wish…

  1. jholmes@mts.net on said:

    You are so sweet. So special Gabe. I love who who are and how you are.
    Jacquie

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Aliea44 on said:

    I wish i could tell you how this makes me feel. No, no telling. There is no telling. If we were where we really live, it would be translated through emotions and thoughts. There are no words. I was working. This came through email. I read it and it seared my soul. Does everyone feel this way? Does everyone sob for an hour? Does it make everyone pray? I don’t know. I don’t know if what I do affects anyone else that way. I just know sometimes you do. Even now, I’m fighing back tears, for you at the core. So keep writing. I’ll leave my email settings the way they are.

  3. Aliea44 on said:

    now that I’ve calmed down, i think it was a nickel xo

  4. (insert love and hearts here …)

  5. Sonia Hofmann on said:

    this is perhaps one of your most meaningful thoughts….I just want you to know that we out here in ‘cyber’ space are reading your words and sharing in your grief, joy or what ever it is your are feeling at the time that you write this…from one of your faithful followers…xxoo Sonia hofmann

Leave a Reply

