OMGabe

by Gabe Berman – the author of Live Like a Fruit Fly

The Best Medicine (Maybe)

I went to sleep smiling last night for the first time in a long time.

Trying to make some sense of the day and of the world, I usually watch Eckhart Tolle talks on YouTube or videos about the quantum nature of the universe before going to bed. And that was my exact intention last night but you know how it can be with YouTube – a serendipitous “wrong” click can bring you to the unexpected right place.

I somehow found myself watching Louie C.K., Chris Rock, Jerry Seinfeld and Ricky Gervais having a semi serious sit-down about comedy.

I didn’t uncover any answers to the Big Questions which are always ricocheting around in my head, but at least I wasn’t sad. In fact, I was pretty happy.

But maybe that is the answer.

Maybe, when you break it down, our search for enlightenment is actually a more adult way of admitting that what we’re just trying to somehow regain the smiles of our childhood.

We strive for inner peace so we can help work on world peace but maybe the truth is – we simply and purely just miss being happy more than we’re sad. Or worried. Or stressed.

If this is the case, it seems like I skipped over the steps by watching those comedic virtuosos last night. Why watch videos of Buddha level gurus when you’re really just trying to lightheartedly laugh your ass off? Just find something that leads to lightheartedly laughing your ass off and voila, you’re good to go.

But, unfortunately, this isn’t the case. Not really. Because laughter, although lovely, doesn’t last.

YouTube is just another drug. And like weed or whisky, you can’t partake in it all day.

Life always sneaks back in. And although the particle theorists and ancient sages might be right when then say that everything is an illusion, we still have to live in it.

That’s why we strive for enlightenment. Because we want to maintain a light heart after the YouTube clip ends. We want to smile through whatever life throws at us. We want “happy” to be our natural state. Of course there’s a lot in life that will rattle us, but we’d like to return to happiness after the slings and arrows have settled.

How do we get there?

Together.

Together through kindness. Together through less expectation – of ourselves and each other.

And yes, together through laughter.

thank you for spending this time with me,
gabe

www.LiveLikeAFruitFly.com

20150106-152256.jpg

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “The Best Medicine (Maybe)

  1. J. Lopez on said:

    I enjoyed this and the post on beauty both Of these things on my mind lately too .

    I recall during early difficult days grieving The loss of my husband , having the thought To just bring some beauty into the day in some small way .

    Anyway enjoying your writing and thoughts .

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. I love this one Gabe, you always bring it back to real. Thank you.

  3. Great post, Gabe!

  4. gabe, i met you a few years ago in florida at a book signing and have followed you and your work throughout the years and then unfortunately your dad passed and you were brought back to new york to support and comfort your mom. i don’t know if it is a coincidence , but when you lived in florida i think you lived near me in boca and before i moved to florida , i lived in long beach, n.y. i don’t want to appear like some weirdo but i believe that there are no accidents and things happen for a reason. i can honestly say i can relate to what you say in your books , blogs etc: for example the best medicine , i am married for a second time to a beautiful loving woman who is much younger than me . i will be seventy-four in october and i always had the curiosity about our universe, life, love and so on. my motto is LIVE, LAUGH,LOVE AND BE HAPPY. i don’t take myself and life seriously. i never denied the child in me . happiness and laughter comes from within. not in a movie, book, or youtube video. these are just temporary fixes. the best to you gabe . allen

    • Of course I remember.

      And you Allen just gave me the biggest gift of a lifetime

      Because just a few hours ago, I was talking to someone about that night.

      I’m completely blown away.

      I can’t thank you enough.

      I’m so happy you’re happy.

      love/thanks,
      gb

Leave a Reply

