OMGabe

by Gabe Berman – the author of Live Like a Fruit Fly

10,9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2,1


Handel’s “Concerto Grosso in F Major” is gorgeously cinematic and inspires with such simplicity and spaciousness.

It’s in my headphones now while I’m sipping a coffee at Starbucks and staring at leafless trees through a window. Birds fly in and out of frame. It’s still bright, but the sun will soon set.

My goal was to sit here and force myself to write something that contributes beauty to this world. Something out of thin air. Something that stirs souls.

But how can I compete with Handel or this water colored sky or these trees or the mysterious essence of life which surrounds me in here?

I can’t. I just can’t.

All I can do is allow myself to receive these gifts in this moment.

Maybe that’s the secret to adding beauty to the world when we’re in between ideas. We can breathe consciously and give ourselves the permission to become fully permeable to the beauty right in front of us when the opportunity arises.

It probably arises more often than we think.

And when it does, we should abide there. While we still can.

I wish everyone a healthy, happy new year –
gabe

20150102-162836.jpg

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “10,9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2,1

  1. cristinadelima@yahoo.com on said:

    Thank You. I love your writing. Happy New Year! 🙂

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

