OMGabe

by Gabe Berman – the author of Live Like a Fruit Fly

The City Of Angels

Since I’m the nicest guy since sliced bread, I drove my friend John to the airport.

He jetted off to Los Angeles because his house was Hurricane Sandyized and it’s finally being fixed up.

I schlepped some of his stuff to my place so it would remain unscathed, and in the car to the airport, John turned to me and said, “Hey man, if by chance something happens when I’m out there and I don’t make it back, keep my things. I trust you to make good use of them.”

I blew that off with, “Whatever man, I’ll see you when you get back in two months.”

We were listening to my dad’s copy of Sgt. Pepper’s and Paul just sang: Will you still need me, will you still feed me, when I’m sixty-four?

John said, “I was around seventeen when I first heard this album. Sixty-four sounded like light years away. Because man, it was. And now I’ll be sixty-four in three months.”

Looking like an older Jim Morrison and holding a guitar in one hand and his cat Minnie in the other, John walked through the doors of the Delta terminal after we hugged goodbye.

I know I’ll see him again and we’ll get back to talking business in Starbucks. You know: Rumi, writing, the reading of the tarot etc.

But the truth is, maybe he will meet his maker out there. Or maybe, I’ll meet mine here.

It happens to all of us eventually. And just like it is with meeting your one true love, it’s usually when you least expect it.

I remember watching a Louie C.K. special on TV in the middle of the night. My dad was sleeping and I was sitting next to his bed in the hospital.

Louie said something like, “You’re all laughing now, but at least some of you will be dead soon.”

Everyone laughed, but I’m sure some of the audience thought about it later that evening. Probably as soon as their heads hit the pillow.

This reminds me of a Charles Bukowski quote someone once emailed me, “We’re all going to die, all of us, what a circus! That alone should make us love each other but it doesn’t. We are terrorized and flattened by trivialities, we are eaten up by nothing.”

Thankfully, this doesn’t apply to John. And it’s applying less and less to me.

Anyone else like to join us?

Evolution is in our own hands…

In Live Like a Fruit Fly, Gabe Berman shares his recipe for living a more joyful, worthwhile, and abundant life in every way. A witty, entertaining, and insightful read.” — Deepak Chopra, Author, The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success

www.LiveLikeAFruitFly.com

www.WhereIsGodWhenOurLovedOnesGetSick.com

www.WeightLossCoffeeMiralce.com

20140224-174214.jpg

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “The City Of Angels

  1. Yep, perspective. That alone should make us love one another … but it doesn’t. Well said, and terribly true. Bummer.

Leave a Reply

