OMGabe

by Gabe Berman – the author of Live Like a Fruit Fly

The Buddha Begged For…

The Buddha, and his disciples, begged for food.

Old men with old robes on their backs, shuffled into town with their wooden bowls and begged for food to keep starvation at bay.

Why did these spiritual masters need to do this?

The answer can be found in an ancient zen poem, “Before enlightenment, chop wood and carry water. After enlightenment, chop wood and carry water.”

Nirvana is nourishment for the soul, not for the stomach.

My books have helped many people, and I am so grateful to be a part of that.

But as of today, the ratio of books being sold to food on my table is not in proper balance.

In addition, the mere act of writing of my book Where Is God When Our Loved Ones Get Sick?, has brought me even closer to being completely “awake” after twenty-five years of searching and striving.

But I’ll still need to chop wood and carry water. And I prefer not to end up as a destitute, old man.

I promised my soul that I will never ever go back to the soulless prison of the corporate world, so I recently asked the universe to show me another way. Within due time, a completely unexpected path was revealed through a string of “coincidences”.

I followed my gut, set off on this new path and it’s already working out.

Extraordinarily.

Maybe it will work for you as well. Take a look here.

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.” – Robert Frost

20140212-141750.jpg

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “The Buddha Begged For…

  1. This was a great entry. Thank you for sharing!

  2. Lori Schildwachter on said:

    That was amazing. You inspire me. Thank you.

  3. Kathleen Maldonado on said:

    Im so happy for u… I agree about the corporate world. Im there now, but im running the mail room, as my boss sees my other skills and abilities she tries to pursuede me enter in for admin, or cust srv or get license for INS sales… Negative…

    Hmmm…. Asking the universr? Ok… I agree the road less traveled is where its at… Thats where the loners go

Leave a Reply

