OMGabe

by Gabe Berman – the author of Live Like a Fruit Fly

Today Is My Anniversary

I started writing Live Like A Fruit Fly on the ninth of February a few years back.

I called my friend Rob, who ended up making a few appearances in the book, and said, “Hey man. I know it’s your birthday, so, happy birthday. But you need to do me a favor. I’m starting to write a book today. A book that can change the world. If I’m not done in a year from today, I need you to come over and blow my head off with a shotgun.”

Gruesome, I know. But without hardcore incentive, I’d procrastinate my life away.

I wrote for a few days and then put it aside for a few weeks. I wrote for a few weeks and then put it aside for a few months.

Sometimes it flowed with ease. Other times it was like forcing water from a stone.

Finally, I typed, “The End.”

With my masterpiece manifested, I looked to the lower righthand corner of my computer screen to see the date. Without planning, it was a year later, the ninth of February.

Live Like A Fruit Fly hasn’t changed the world.

Yet.

But I’m grateful to say that it is changing lives – one by one.

For example, I became close friends with a fan of my book and I introduced her to a close friend of mine from back home. They’re now living together and she took him today for a full day at the spa.

Why today?

Because it’s Rob. And today is his birthday.

“In Live Like a Fruit Fly, Gabe Berman shares his recipe for living a more joyful, worthwhile, and abundant life in every way. A witty, entertaining, and insightful read.” —Deepak Chopra, Author, The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success

20140209-132911.jpg

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Today Is My Anniversary

  1. It’s interesting how life turns out if we learn to surrender. Happy anniversary, and happy birthday to Rob.

  2. Good stuff! I plan on reading your book. I certainly understand the feeling of accomplishment when you finished the book. I literally did a happy dance when I finished mine. Working on the sequel now and hoping to do that dance again!
    Peace!

  3. Happy Anniversary… a day later. “Live Like a Fruit Fly…” has changed my life, for one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

