OMGabe

by Gabe Berman – the author of Live Like a Fruit Fly

A Letter To You

(This is the newest chapter of The Fruit Fly Strikes Back – The sequel to my book Live Like A Fruit Fly)

Image

It’s Just Us – chapter 50

I love old memories.

They’re like dust covered treasure maps hidden in the dark attic of your mind. Seemingly gone forever until a mysterious wind blows and instantly uncovers those lost moments in full technicolor.

I love how old memories simultaneously feel like five lifetimes ago and five minutes ago.

My ears burn from the cold wind but I’m smiling. Peripherally, I realize my dad isn’t holding on to the seat any longer. I’m riding a bike by myself for the first time. Freedom. I hear him laughing and clapping in the distance.

And poof, just like that, I turned forty.

But no rants of disbelief this year. No full-court press against gray hairs.

Just you and I sharing this moment together. And soon this moment, like all moments, will

recrystallize into a memory and settle under the dust and darkness.

Before it does though, I want to let you know how grateful I am that you’re here with me.

Live like a fruit fly.

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “A Letter To You

  1. Like dust covered treasure maps hidden in your mind…memories. Those are the most beautiful descriptive words for memories that I have yet to hear. Thank you.

    PS-You Rock!

  2. You know what? I dig you, and so does my 9-year old daughter. It’s pretty funny to have her nod knowingly at me, and murmur, “Yep, Mom. Live like a fruit fly. After all, we’re dying.” Great stuff and I look forward to what you got coming.

  3. Beautiful! Is it your birthday? Hau’oli La Hanau e ka pua u’i!

  4. Amazing. You’re so gifted, my friend. xo

  5. Ace! Man in the orange/reddish hat 😉
    eden

Leave a Reply

