OMGabe

by Gabe Berman – the author of Live Like a Fruit Fly

A Thank You Letter To Homeless People

I don’t know who I feel more sorry for, you, or those people who walk by you all day long without giving you a single cent. Without even acknowledging your mere existence.

But this isn’t about them, it’s about you. And I wanted to sincerely thank you for what you say when I reach into my pocket for some change or a single or two.

“God bless you.”

I like to believe that you’re an angel in disguise and when you say God blesses me, I choose to believe that you’re not idling throwing words around. I choose to believe you’re speaking for and from the source of all sources.

But even if that’s bullshit, I’ll continue to share whatever money I have with you anyway. Because I could easily be you and you could be me and with everybody walking by me on the street as if I’m invisible, I’ll be counting on you so I can get a bite.

So thank you for giving me this opportunity to not be like everyone else and to receive your blessings.

Stay safe…

with love,

gabe

“In Live Like a Fruit Fly, Gabe Berman shares his recipe for living a more joyful,worthwhile, and abundant life in every way. A witty, entertaining, and insightful read.” ~Deepak Chopra

Click here now—>Amazon or B&N to order Live Like A Fruit Fly – The Secret You Already Know

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “A Thank You Letter To Homeless People

  1. LiLi on said:

    I love this post Gabe, brings back memories…I think I told you once before about the homeless man that I used to see everyday when I did my rotation at Jackson Memorial Hospital? Our attendings physicians used to tell us not to give the homeless on campus any money because they would just go buy alcohol with it and we “would kill their liver”, so I made lemonade out of lemons. I used to buy a McDonalds Happy Meal for this desperate, starving man every time I saw him on campus instead…probably didn’t help his cholesterol level much, but he was very grateful!!! His smile spoke a million words for me. Thank you for this wonderful post, you’re a good egg. :-))))

  2. elizabethspradbery on said:

    Like it. Thanks for following and sending.

  3. Damian Fitzgerald on said:

    I’m with you Gabe. We are all one, so I care for those without. God Bless you my friend!

  4. When I first got out of the hospital I ended up homeless. You know, there’s few worst feelings out there than lining up for a bed at night, trying to count the number of people in front of you to see if there is going to be enough room there for you. It’s a hard, cold reality looking around and seeing the faces of other people there, some so much older than you, wondering how long they’ve been on the streets and if they’ll ever get off of them, if that will be you in a few years, looking, feeling so much older than you are. The truth is I never asked for change, or sat at a corner asking for money, and the faces I often saw in those lines were often different than the faces of the people I would see asking for change on the streets. Still, every now and then now I will stop and give what I can to someone if I can see a sincere need in them because I do believe it is there, I tend to think I have become a fairly decent judge of what that really is.

    I don’t tend to feel sorry for the people who walk by and don’t acknowlegde because I don’t know much of their situation. Do they give to the soup kitchens and sandwich lines that keep fed? Do they give to the Salvation Army shelters that give a roof over them and a cot under them? What are their own finances like? There are places people give that remain unseen, or reasons they can’t give that it’s easier for them not to look and feel the guilt associated with seeing someone in need. Some though, you’re right, they just don’t care.

    What I can tell you though is that, whatever problems they may have, if they spend the money on food or shelter, or they spend it on an addiction that has gripped them, if they are sincerely in need, and it’s not the ruse some put up to take advantage of the kindness of others, the blessing they give you is a sincere one. There are few people more religious, who abide in a greater sense of faith and hope than those in that sincerest of need, grateful for the love of others regardless of what they might spend the money on.

    I guess my point is I believe your faith is justified, one way or another, in the love that they have for you.

  5. What a beautiful letter, none of us know what tomorrow will bring, anybody can end up homeless through circumstance, be kind to everyone you meet a nod a smile a hug, be grateful for all that is good in your life and share what you have with others,

    Anne

  6. As I read this I see something so deep and really quite profound.

    His need has caused you to grow in faith towards that which you cannot see and your generosity has caused him to hope in humanity…if even for one more day.

    Perhaps you are each others angel…just perhaps…

  7. This post really touched me. I’ve been homeless, and I’ve worked around the homeless, and nothing hit me so hard as the death of one of our favorites. It’s so easy to get caught up in life and forget about others, but to simply pretend the man on the corner doesn’t exist is–for me–impossible.

  8. I was having a conversation about this the other night. I remember when I was a teenager I felt so giving when a man told me about his family not having enough food. I’d been taught to “not give to these people”. I had a work around though and took him into a Walgreens and bought everything he’d asked for. I always wondered if there was a family to receive this stuff, or did I just burden him with bags of groceries when all he wanted was money for alcohol? There was some inner, ha got you going on in this thought.
    There was still something nagging at me about wanting to give unconditionally. I had another opportunity soon after when a man asked me for a cigarette. He seemed to really need it. I told him I didn’t have smoke. I ran after him, handed him a $5 bill and said, go buy a pack.
    These stories are admittedly rare situations in my much more narcissistic existence during this span of my life.
    The more recent years of my life I’ve always acknowledged as many as I can and given the majority of those something.
    I was walking with a friend and someone came up to me and asked for money. My friend literally fought me as I was taking out money to give to him saying it was actually enabling him by doing so. This spoken right in front of this man.
    We walked on and even before I had time to come up with the argument in the defense of my behavior, the words, “I wasn’t for him, it was for me” popped out of my mouth. This shut up my friend instantly, but this inner knowing was that I was giving for arrogance, but simply for the recognition of how I’ll live out the rest of my days.
    Gabe, thanks for sharing brother! I love another perspective.

Leave a Reply

